Archive for Book Awards

SDBAA Notification – New Board Members Elected

Share the news about our wonderful organization!

San Diego Book Awards is a non-profit organization of 22 years that is dedicated to recognizing and celebrating local unpublished, published and self-published writers of all genres including poetry, through an annual juried competition that includes an awards ceremony honoring their achievements.

Most importantly, life after publication is offered through professional literary mentors.

The new SDBA board of directors for 2016 is:

Jean Forsythe, President
Jeanne Ferris, Vice President
Joan Gerstein, Treasurer
Melody Fleetwood, Secretary
Tiffany M. Vakilian, IT and Social Media

SDBA competition is on hiatus for reorganization. Books written and printed in 2016 will be included in the 2017 competition for judging and awards. Please check back in June 2016 regarding competition update.

2014 Finalists

Finalists in each category are listed in alphabetical order by the author’s last name. Winners will be selected from among the finalists and announced at the awards ceremony. All entries were reviewed by at least three judges. The judging chairs reserved the right to combine subcategories depending on the number of entries received.

Read more

2013 San Diego Book Awards Ceremony Gallery

2013 Winners Announced

Kids Write
1st place: Crystal Wang for Mokupuni Nalu
2nd place Alan Lunardhi for The Lake of Purity
3rd place: Richard Li for Battle for the Amulets

Poetry Chapbook 
Suburban Dissection by Tina Culp Barton

Unpublished Novel 
Still Born by Anne Marie Welsh

Unpublished Novel for Children & Young Adults
The Irene by Karen Bishop

Short Story
Rescue by John Michals

Published Poetry
Intimate Geography by Ishmael Von Heidrick-Barnes

Published Poetry Anthology 
Lantern Tree by Chris Baron, Heather Eudy, Cali Linfor, and Sabrina Youmans

Published General Fiction 
Grace by T. Greenwood

Published Anthology/Short Story Collection
Duty: Suspense and Mystery Stories by Martin Roy Hill

Published – Young Adult Fiction
The Girl in the Glass by Susan Meissner

Published – Children’s Fiction & Picture Book 
Anyway by Arthur Salm

Published – Children’s Nonfiction 
Imaginations: Fun Relaxation Stories and Meditations for Kids by Carolyn Clarke

Published – Historical Fiction 
South of Burnt Rocks West of the Moon by G.J. Berger

Published – Romance 
Haole Wood by Dee DeTarsio

Published – Psychology & Self-Help 
Emotional Ophans by Cate Shepherd

The Mindfulness Workbook for Addiction by Rebecca E. Williams and Julie S. Kraft

Published -Spiritual & Inspirational 
Through God’s Eyes by Phil Bolsta

Published – Memoir
Challenged: A Tribute by Steve Grieger

Published – Biography  
I Got a Name: The Jim Croce Story by Ingrid Croce and Jimmy Rock

Published – Action, Suspense, & Thriller 
Assassin’s Game by Gov. Dan Walker and Peggy Lang

Published – Mystery 
The Angry Woman Suite by Lee Fullbright

Published – Business 
The Mission Myth by Deirdre Maloney

Published – SciFi, Fantasy, & Horror 
The Colony by Blaine Readler

Published – Local Interest  
Hail Montezuma! by Seth Mallios

Published – History 
Fighter Group by Jay Stout

Published – Travel
Sailing the South Pacific by Lois Joy Hofmann

Published – Cookbook and Entertaining 
Photographs and Memories: Recipes from Croce’s Restaurant and Jazz Bar by Ingrid Croce

Published – General Nonfiction  
Amazing Words by Richard Lederer

Geisel Award
The Angry Woman Suite by Lee Fullbright

2012 Winners Announced

2012 Award Ceremony 

Read more

2012 Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Pictures from the 2012 San Diego Book Awards Ceremony held June 9, 2012.

Read more